Diary Study App: Wireframes and User Stories

Before I felt like I could make my wireframes I had to sit down and decide just exactly what my app would do… at first. There are so many things the app could do but I didn’t want to over do it at first.

The first thing I did was outline the parts of a diary study. What exactly does that entail, and what activities are involved. This could be anything involved in the process – not just things the app might be able to do.

Her is my list from that exercise:

2014-04-13 14.24.14 2014-04-13 14.24.26.

The next thing I did was get a little stuck. So I stopped myself and went back. I asked myself “What of these activities MUST this app do in order to create value?”

My answer was: This app MUST collect data from participants into a centralized location in order to be valuable.

With that settled I started to write user stories. Guides for myself and my hypothetical team that break down the app into discrete functional parts.

 

 

2014-04-13 14.24.42

 

Doing this helped me organize my thoughts and made me realize that I needed a place to collect projects and a place to collect all the data within one project.

I created two very rough sketches of what the project list and project page might look like.

2014-04-13 14.20.59

2014-04-13 14.21.17

 

About calliewheeler

Callie is an enthusiastic proponent of user centered design and usability research and discovery. Her passions lie in social entrepreneurship and experience design.

Leave a comment